Today was rather an interesting day at school- interesting because my friends had to make a cake in food technology and interesting because I got to eat the majority of it. I can’t do Food Technology anymore because the teacher practically forbid me due to an incident involving gas, flames and fringes. Also I can’t cook to save my life.

I don’t do Food Technology anymore for a number of reasons, but the main ones are A) the teacher hates me B) I think the teacher picks on me because I’m taller than her (it’s not hard- she’s only like 4ft10) Me and my best friend would sit at the front of the classroom because ‘she needed to keep an eye on us’- partly because we always set the smoke alarm off and partly because we had a conversational disposition. One time I couldn’t get the gas to work on the cooker so my teacher bent over it and had a go and it worked, consequently singing her fringe….from then on, I was permanently taken off her Christmas card list. I cant say I’m devastated.

When I got to the form room for lunch break, about 10 of my friends all had cakes they made in Food Technology which needed eating or else they would go off. So we shared the slices out and had a bit of a party (this is kind of hard when 29 girls share the smallest classroom in the school) It all got a bit out of hand when we dropped some cake on the floor- then we decided to see if we could throw the dirty slice in the bin from the opposite side of the room (only about 5m away but yeah) We made a clear path from the cake to the bin…about 29 or so spectators stood either side of the path..my friend THREW the slice- it flew through the air like a bird (spreading crumbs everywhere) until I gracefully caught it in the bin! Mission successful!

Moral of the story: have friends who do Food Tech because you get free cake. Also, if you do find yourself with a dirty slice of cake, it might be easier if you take the slice to the bin rather than hurtling it across the room.